David A. Leas - all rights reserved.

Home | Commissioners | Council | County Offices | GIS Maps | Community Links

Circuit Court's Homepage


Resources - including downloadable forms.

Return to the
"County Offices" Page
 David A. Leas - all rights reserved. Circuit Court 

Timothy B. Day
Circuit Court Judge
150 Courthouse Square, # 6
Greensburg, IN 47240

Phone: (812) 663-8455
Fax: (812) 663-7957
E-mail: circuitcourt@decaturcounty.in.gov

Circuit courts are the only trial courts mentioned in the Indiana Constitution, but the Constitution did not create circuit courts. The 1851Constitution granted the General Assembly the power to create circuit courts. The General Assembly divided Indiana into circuits, based on county lines. Each county in Indiana has at least one circuit court. Indiana has 92 counties, and 88 of these counties comprise their own circuit, with their own circuit court. The remaining four small counties (Ohio, Dearborn, Jefferson, and Switzerland Counties) have been combined to form two circuits with two counties in each circuit.

When Indiana first became a state, circuit courts were the only courts in each county. Therefore, circuit courts traditionally heard ALL civil and criminal cases. Today, circuit courts continue to have unlimited trial jurisdiction, EXCEPT when exclusive or concurrent (shared) jurisdiction is conferred upon other courts.

Information taken from the State of Indiana's Publication, "Know Your Indiana Courts"

Home | Commissioners | Council | County Offices | GIS Maps | Community Links

 This page was created by 908 Design.
Contact David A Leas with your questions or comments.


  908 Design - all rights reserved.